Communication, Health

Near Death Experience

On the way to Los Angeles I realised that I had left all of my insulin in Arcata. In case you don’t know, insulin is what processes carbohydrates into energy, but in the case of a Type 1 or Juvenile Diabetic, like myself, this needs to be administered in the form of multiple daily injections or an insulin pump. I figured that I had enough in my pump to last me until I got home. So I would just need to get mum to make me an appointment with the local doctor on the day I arrived home.

I forgot to ask mum to make an appointment. I was a little distracted with excitement. But all was good, I’d just have to get up early head to the chemist to get an advanced prescription, make an appointment with the doctor for later that day to get a prescription to give to the pharmacist. Well, I tried to do that but the pharmacy wouldn’t give me anything without a prescription. Mum and I then tried to see the doctor straight away. But the receptionist didn’t understand the urgency of the situation and therefore told me that the next available appointment was in three hours. Getting frustrated, Mum and I decided to try a different medical centre.

The receptionist at the second medical centre seemed to be unhelpful, but ended up calling the doctor who was more than willing to quickly write up a prescription. We went across the road to the chemist, but they didn’t stock the type of insulin on the script. Mum had an appointment with a financial adviser in Gosford, so we decided to head over and I’d look for a chemist while mum went to her meeting. The chemist in Gosford didn’t stock the insulin I needed either.

I thought that Gosford hospital would be the best bet for having the type of insulin I needed, but when I got there the pharmacist said I needed a script from a doctor within the hospital. I didn’t particularly want to wait in the ER for a doctor to write a script. Mum said we should try the chemist near the big medical centre in Wyoming. Thankfully they did have the insulin on the script, but I realised why the other chemists didn’t. The doctor had written a script for vials instead of pen-fills, which are the most commonly stocked type.

By the time I finally changed my pump I was really nauseous and was sick in the car park. Then Mum drove me home, and when I put the insulin in the fridge I found that there were three pen-fills sitting in there from last year.

CK.

Standard

Leave a Reply

